Preaload Image

Skilled Visa for Australia

What Is Skill Select?

Skill Select is the first step for a visa application, it is an indication that you would like to be considered for a skilled visa. You will be asked to provide a range of information in your Skill Select depending on the visa(s) you want to be considered for, such as:

  • Basic personal information.
  • Nominated occupation.
  • Work experience.
  • Study and education.
  • Level of English skills.
  • Details of a Skills Assessment, related to your nominated occupation.
  • Business and investment experience.

For more details on what questions and information you will need to supply in your Skill Select, you should refer to the webpage for the visa(s) you are interested in.

Points Test

For the points based skilled migration and business innovation and investment visa programs , you will be ranked according to the appropriate points test. You will be able to submit an Skill Select even if you do not meet the pass mark; however, you will not be invited to apply for a visa.

The pass mark is the number of points required to be eligible for skilled migration. The pass marks is 60 points. It is important to remember that meeting the points test pass mark does not guarantee you an invitation to apply for a visa. If you select the subclass 190 or 489 visa(s) you will receive the appropriate points for nomination or sponsorship. For example if you select the 190 visa subclass you will receive 5 points which will be added to your points score. Your points score based on your claims in your Skill Select will then be displayed before you submit your Skill Select.

Nominated Occupation

If you are submitting an Skill Select for a visa that requires you to list a nominated occupation you should establish if your occupation is a skill that Australia needs. You can do this by checking the Skilled Occupation Lists. You must provide details of a Skills Assessment relating to your nominated occupation in your Skill Select.


Australian immigration will be introducing changes in the skilled migration visa programmes starting from 1st July, 2012. These are major changes which Australian immigration has adopted in many years. Australian immigration’s new skilled worker program will be called the Skilled Migrant Selection Register, known as SkillSelect. SkillSelect is an online service that enables skilled workers interested in migrating to Australia to record their details to be considered for a skilled visa through an Expression of Interest (Skill Select). Intending migrants could be found and nominated for skilled visas by Australian employers or state and territory governments, or they could be invited by the Australian Government to lodge a visa application.

This is a significant change as compared to the earlier system where if you gain enough points under a particular visa scheme you qualified for it. This is really beneficial to the prospective visa applicants, as it will cut out the hassle of documentation at the Skill Select submission stage. Also, you don’t need to pay anything while submitting the Skill Select. Your expression of interest will float in the database for a period of two years, thereby increasing the chances of you getting a visa of your choice. If your Skill Select is selected and you get an invitation it will be a onetime investment thereby cutting your cost and making the visa approval realistic. All prospective visa applicants will be required to meet the relevant English language requirements and obtain the necessary skills assessment prior to their Skill Select submission.

Skilled migration points test requirements under SkillSelect

The three points-tested skilled migration visa subclasses (189, 190 and 489) will continue to require:

  • Intending migrants pass a points test to be invited to apply for a visa.
  • Factors assessed under the new points test will be similar to the current points test.
  • The main difference is that the points will be based on the applicant’s attributes at the time of invitation rather than at the time of application lodgement or decision.
  • The pass mark is the minimum number of points required to be eligible for a points tested skilled migration visa and is subject to change in response to Australian labour market needs.

If you lodged a visa application prior to 1 July 2012, it will be processed according to the priority processing direction in effect at the time your visa application is processed. You can also submit an Skill Select in SkillSelect. This would allow employers and state or territory governments to view your details which may increase the chances of obtaining a skilled visa.

From 1 July 2012, if you are interested in the following visas, you will need to submit an Skill Select and receive an invitation before you can apply for a visa:

  • Subclass 189 Skilled – Independent (Permanent) (Class SI)
  • Subclass 190 Skilled – Sponsored (Permanent) (Class SK)
  • Subclass 489 – Regional Sponsored (Provisional) (Class SP)
  • Subclass 132 Business Talent (Permanent) (Class EA)
  • Subclass 188 Business Innovation and Investment (Provisional) (Class EB)

You can also express interest in the following visa programs on your Skill Select to be selected by an employer.

  • Subclass 186 – Employer Nomination Scheme (ENS) (Class EN)
  • Subclass 187 – Regional Sponsored Scheme (RSMS) (Class RN)
  • Subclass 457 – Temporary Business (Long Stay) (Class UC)

Benefits of Skill Select

  • There will be no hassle of documentation while submitting Skill Select.
  • Skill Select will be there for 2 years in the database.
  • One time investment